The Next Big Thing out of Detroit

Black Milk AKA Curtis Cross is a hip hop producer and MC from Detroit, Michigan.  I recently bought his mixtape entitled Caltroit and was blown away.  I feel that Black Milk is one of the up and coming artists in the hip hop “game”  along with artists like Jay Electronica.  

Caltroit was released in the January of 2008 with Bishop Lamont who is best known for his work with Aftermath.  The mixtape features seventeen full length tracks with explosive lyrical ability and head-bobbing beats.  While I am not a fan of “gangsta” rap or the mainstream rap, I feel that Black Milk has the ability to bridge the underground hip hop with the mainstream artists.

Other than producing a few beats for Slum Village, Black Milk has yet to explode onto the hip hop scene.  I found a cool two part interview on youtube. Part 1 and Part 2 .  I found part 2 to be more interesting where he gives producers tips on timing for their beats and samples.  I found a recent interview with Black Milk and Insomniac Magazine.  Black Milk & Fat Ray will be releasing a album March 4 entitled The Set Up.

Tags: , ,

Leave a comment